Phone: 641-521-0330

Murty Dominates Fever Heat Classic

Story by Josh Reynolds


Stuart, IA (September 22) – Hot weather combined with a smooth, fast track made for some awesome racing at Stuart Speedway! Travis Stensland, Skylar Hunter, Damon Murty and Barry Taft were the big winners on the Night Before the Ron Little Memorial.

Bryan Compart and Jeff Stensland brought out the Mod Lites first for the annual running of the Clint Walrod Memorial. Josh May took command early with Travis Stensland coming through to second from his sixth starting spot on lap two. The pair led Scott Naggatz into lap traffic on lap eight with May holding a decent advantage over Stensland. That advantage began to shrink around lap fourteen as Stensland closed in on the leader. May took the white flag in the lead and looked to have it in the bag, but Stensland used a lap car as a pick and passed May coming out of turn four to take the win. May finished a disappointing second with Naggatz third, Bryan Zehm fourth and Mike Morrill fifth. Stensland and Morrill were the heat race winners.

Micro Sprints came out next with Skylar Hunter and Frank Galusha on the front row for the Kylie Hunter Memorial. Hunter led the way with Galusha and Jayce Jenkins close behind until a caution flew on lap three. The three regained form through the first three quarters of the race until another yellow came out on lap fifteen. The caution bunched the field for a final five lap dash and Hunter was up to the challenge as he took the win in the event that honors his sister! Galusha finished second, Jenkins third, Travis Rewerts fourth and Riley Goodno fifth. Hunter and Galusha owned the night as they picked up the heat race wins as well.

Robert Stofer and Bryan Snell brought the IMCA Stock Cars to life next for the Fever Heat Classic and it was Stofer leading Snell and then Dustin Reeh through the first nine laps until a caution came out to slow the field. Damon Murty snuck through the top two to snag the lead on lap ten and pulled away until another yellow flew on lap sixteen. Murty led Stofer and Reeh until a spinning Brock Badger brought out the yellow on lap twenty. Another quick yellow on lap twenty three set up a green-white-checkered finish, and Murty showed he had the car to beat as he went on to take the win. Reeh finished second with Stofer third, Mike Nichols fourth and Brian Blessington fifth. Stofer and Jordan Riesberg were the heat race winners.

After Jake Benischek, Curtis Miller, Dean Richards, Barry Taft and Matt Oberhelman won the heat races and Colin Rodgers took the B-Feature it was Shannon Mahlberg and Benischek making up the front row for the Sport Compact portion of the Ron Little Memorial. Benischek led 2017 SIS Track Champion John Gill and Oberhelman for the first two laps with Oberhelman making it to second on lap three. Oberhelman would go pit side for a flat tire on lap six and the caution flew a lap later to slow the field. Barry Taft benefitted from Oberhelman’s misfortune and took over the runner up spot as Benischek continued to lead. The two leaders stayed put with Curtis Miller running in third through a lap sixteen debris caution. It looked as though Benischek was a shoe in to take the win, but on lap twenty two the cars of AJ Myott and Kris Chadwick came together on the backstretch. The incident slowed both cars and forced the caution flag to come out. As Chadwick coasted to a stop in the infield it looked as though his night was simply over, but things turned serious as a huge fireball erupted from underneath the car. Luckily no one was injured by this and Chadwick was able to exit the car. Unfortunately, the broken fuel line under the car continued to pour gas on the fire and not even the Stuart Fire Department was able to completely put it out. After a 45 minute delay the blaze was finally out and the cars were re-fired. Benischek stayed out front, but on lap twenty eight it was Taft making his move and taking over the top spot. Taft would go on to take the win over Benischek, Gill, Tyler Thompson and David Coenen.

It was a great night of racing and we really appreciate everyone sticking with us through the delay with the fire. Congratulations to all of the winners!


Stock Cars A-Feature

1. Damon Murty (99D)

Chelsea, Ia

2. Dustin Reeh (15)

Council Bluffs, Ia

3. Robert Stofer (50)

Jefferson, Ia

4. Mike Nichols (63)

Harlan, Ia

5. Brian Blessington (92B)

Breda, Ia

6. Brandon Pruitt (10B)

Stuart, Ia

7. Buck Schafroth (92)

Orient, Ia

8. Chad Legere (7C)

Ankeny, Ia

9. Josh Daniels (25J)

Carlisle, Ia

10. Chris Pruitt (22)

Stuart, Ia

11. Corey Piffer (71)

Indianola, Ia

12. Brock Badger (50B)

Bagley, Ia

13. Ty Hill (3H)

Ankeny, Ia

14. Jordan Riesberg (55)

Madrid, Ia

15. Bryan Snell (3S)

Coon Rapids, Ia

16. Marcus Fagan (1F)

Adair, Ia

17. Brad Herring (87)

Corning, Ia


Micro Sprints A-Feature

1. Skylar Hunter (7S)

Afton, Ia

2. Frank Galusha (12)

Lincoln, Ne

3. Jayce Jenkins (33)

Monroe, Ia

4. Travis Rewerts (23T)

Des Moines, Ia

5. Riley Goodno (11)

Knoxville, Ia

6. Ryan Mills (92M)

Pleasant Hill, Ia

7. Dylan Sillman (35D)

Alvo, Ne

8. Jeremiah Sillman (52S)

Alvo, Ne

9. Charles Aman (35)

Lincoln, Ne

10. Jimmy Abell (20J)

Colfax, Ia

11. Greg Dennis (25A)

Indianola, Ia

12. Alec Carberry (16T)

Omaha, Ne

13. David Stepp (47)

Des Moines, Ia

14. Charlie Robuck (71R)

Knoxville, Ia


Mod Lites A-Feature

1. Travis Stensland (89)

Nevada, Ia

2. Joshua May (99)

Des Moines, Ia

3. Scott Naggatz (54N)

Carter Lake, Ia

4. Bryan Zehm (46Z)

Ames, Ia

5. Mike Morrill (6)

Altoona, Ia

6. Joe Glick (3G)

Madrid, Ia

7. Erin Turner (7)

Van Meter, Ia

8. Jeff Stensland (20)

Nevada, Ia

9. Chris Unruh (88C)

Galva, Ks

10. Jon Braathun (64)

Story City, Ia

11. Tyler Swoboda (51)

Carter Lake, Ia

12. Bryan Compart (14)

Madrid, Ia

13. Douglas Byers (4B)

Grinnell, Ia

14. Troy Reeves (00)

Council Bluffs, Ia

15. Chelsea May (18M)

Desoto, Ia

16. Ted Jensen (9)

Portsmouth, Ia


Spt Compact A-Feature

1. Barry Taft (57)

Argyle, Ia

2. Jake Benischek (3)

Durant, Ia

3. John Gill (02)

Marshalltown, Ia

4. Tyler Thompson (15)

Sioux City, Ia

5. David Coenen (4)

Harlan, Ia

6. Dean Richards (69X)

Creston, Ia

7. Kaytee Devries (8K)

Spencer, Ia

8. James Peterson (79)

Webster City, Ia

9. Bill Whalen Jr (00W)

Riverside, Ia

10. Colin Rodgers (22)

Britt, Ia

11. Matt Baker (03)

Britt, Ia

12. Curtis Miller (411)

Lewis, Ia

13. Logan Richards (69R)

Creston, Ia

14. Kris Chadwick (4Q)

Harlan, Ia

15. A J Myott (14M)

Fort Dodge, Ia

16. Bobby Key (7)

Corning, Ia

17. Dustin Grout (10G)

Prescott, Ia

18. Devin Jones (7X)

Sioux City, Ia

19. Shannon Mahlberg (22M)

Dunlap, Ia

20. Hunter Patrick (33)

St. Charles, Ia

21. Chris Vannausdale (15V)

Villisca, Ia

22. Ryan Bryant (37)

Mason City, Ia

23. Matt Oberhelman (41)

Fort Dodge, Ia

24. Alex Davis (121)

Manilla, Ia







Copyright © 2018. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.