Phone: 641-521-0330

Thornton Jr Stays Unbeaten

Story by Josh Reynolds


Stuart, IA (May 22) – Warm and breezy conditions meant a slick racing surface, but the fans were treated to a terrific night of racing at Stuart Speedway! Skylar Hunter, Garrit McKee, Josh Daniels, John Gill, Ricky Thornton Jr, Shannon Anderson and Shawn Cooney took the wins on Casey's General Stores & Luellen Farms Night at the Races.

The Heartland Micro Sprints were the first feature to hit the track with Skylar Hunter and Alec Carberry on the front row. Hunter got the jump and lead early over Carberry and Frank Galusha. As the cars started to encounter lap traffic on lap twelve, Carberry began to inch closer to Hunter. Carberry would make it within a car length, but no closer as Hunter went on to the win. Carberry finished second with Galusha third, Ryan Mills fourth and Jayce Jenkins fifth. Galusha and Jeremiah Sillman were the heat race winners.

Jesse Dudney and Garrit McKee brought out the Pro-4 Trucks next for their inaugural race at SIS. Kyle Byrd led lap one, but it was all McKee after that as he went on to the win. Byrd finished second with Garrett Nelson third, T.J. Woods fourth and Dudney fifth. McKee was also the heat race winner.

IMCA Stock Cars were up next with Adam Hagan and Josh Daniels on the front row. Daniels led early with Derrick Rohe and Brandon Pruitt close behind. Rohe snuck into the lead on lap five and looked to have the advantage, but on lap fifteen Daniels muscled back into the lead on the bottom side of the track. Daniels would go on to the win over Rohe, Ben Walding, Chris Pruitt and Marcus Fagan. Daniels and Chris Pruitt were the heat race winners.

Curtis Miller and Jacob Reiter paced the IMCA Sport Compacts with John Gill coming through the pack to lead lap one. Gill would be chased high and low by Jacob Reiter, but to no avail as Gill went on to the win. Reiter came home second with Cory Stapleton third, Miller fourth and Randy Rush fifth. Stapleton was the heat race winner.

IMCA Modifieds came out next with Scott Simatovich and Jacob Murray on the front row. Murray held court early with Simatovich and Scott Bash not far behind. After spinning out in the heat and missing the invert, Ricky Thornton Jr took all of six laps to make it to fourth place. He would be held up there until lap twelve when he got by Simatovich for third. One lap later he took second from Bash and set his sights on Murray. A little less than half a straightaway separated the two, and in three laps that lead evaporated as Thornton Jr powered his way to the front. Thornton Jr went on to take the win with Murray second, Bash third, Jeff James fourth and Simatovich fifth. James and Murray were the heat race winners.

Matt Tiernan and Korbin Nourse brought the IMCA Hobby Stocks out next with Buck Schafroth leading lap one from his third starting spot. Schafroth stayed out front while Shannon Anderson worked his way through the field to second on lap nine. Schafroth looked to take it all the way to a win, but a caution on lap twelve erased the lead and bunched up the cars for a final restart. That was all Anderson needed as he swept past Schafroth on the next lap and went on to the win. Schafroth finished second with Jamie Schirm third, John Watson fourth and Jason Day fifth. Watson and Anderson were the heat race winners.

Last up for the night would be the IMCA Northern SportMods with Chase Rudolf and Dusty Masolini leading the field to green. Rudolf led until Shawn Cooney got by on lap three. Three cautions slowed the field, but Cooney was up to the task and held strong at the front each time. Clint Luellen moved by Rudolf for second on lap eleven, but he was no match for Cooney on this night as the #30 Casey’s General Stores Jake Murray Racing Chassis went on to the win. Luellen finished second with Masolini third, Rudolf fourth and Kody Havens fifth. Rudolf and Luellen were the heat race winners.

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our third event of the year. Next week will be the 16th annual Ron Little Memorial. We will have our 5 regular IMCA classes along with the Heartland Micro Sprints and the MADCRA Mod Lites. There will be increased purses in all IMCA classes and the Modifieds will race for $2000 to win and $100 to start! The winner will also be put on the ballot for the Fastshafts All Star Invitational! Plus Karl Performance is adding in $100 gift cards for Modified, Stock Car, SportMod and Hobby winners and a $50 gift card for the Sport Compact winner! AND it will all be broadcasted LIVE by Speed Shift TV!!! You don’t want to miss this race! See you next week!


Modifieds - Feature

1. 20RT    Ricky Thornton Jr

2. 48J    Jacob Murray

3. 14B    Scott Bash

4. 71    Jeff James

5. 43S    Scott Simatovich

6. 11X    Tom Berry

7. 4TW    Tim Ward

8. V31    Todd Vaneaton

9. 83G    Josh Gilman

10. 51X    Matthew Webb

11. 5M    Matthew Meinecke

12. 25D    Bob Daniels

13. 1BC    Tony Cox

14. 15M    Shane Demey



Stock Cars - Feature

1. 25J    Josh Daniels

2. 98    Derrick Rohe

3. 52    Ben Walding

4. 22    Chris Pruitt

5. 1F    Marcus Fagan

6. 92B    Brian Blessington

7. 54    Robbie Merkle

8. 78JP    Josh Pruitt

9. 10B    Brandon Pruitt

10. 12    Adam Hagen



SportMods - Feature

1. 30    Shawn Cooney

2. 3L    Clinton Luellen

3. 8    Dusty Masolini

4. 8R    Chase Rudolf

5. 99K    Kody Havens

6. 6A    Adam Armstrong

7. 34    Jerry Hinton

8. 57    Lynn Brockett

9. 13T    Taylor Musselman

10. 77    Mike Myer

11. 32S    Blair Simmons

12. 3A    Austin Luellen

13. 29V    Brett Vanderheiden

14. 93N    Colton Nelson



Hobby Stocks - Feature

1. 78    Shannon Anderson

2. 92    Buck Schafroth

3. 56    Jamie Schirm

4. 4W    John Watson

5. 14    Jason Day

6. 77G    Ryan Grochala

7. 12    Korbin Nourse

8. 18    Jordan Peters

9. 0    Jack Phillips

10. 9H    Kenny Hay

11. 3J    Jamie Flugge-smith

12. 3A    Gregg Anderson

13. 14B    Keith Burg

14. 7    David Simpson

15. 7M    Matt Tiernan



Spt Compact - Feature

1. 2    John Gill

2. 30X    Jacob Reiter

3. 8    Cory Stapleton

4. 411    Curtis Miller

5. 54    Randy Rush

6. 4    David Coenen



Micro Sprints - Feature

1. 7S    Skylar Hunter

2. 16T    Alec Carberry

3. 12    Frank Galusha

4. 92M    Ryan Mills

5. 33    Jayce Jenkins

6. 52S    Jeremiah Sillman

7. 49C    Corey Forsyth

8. 1F    Jason Friesen

9. 20J    Jimmy Abell

10. 11    Riley Goodno

11. 35D    Dylan Sillman

12. 7K    Shane Hunter

13. 20D    David Abell

14. 99    Rich Koop

15. 7    Travis Rewerts



Trucks - Feature

1. 88    Garrit Mckee

2. 27    Kyle Byrd

3. 95N    Garrett Nelson

4. 01W    T.j. Woods

5. 84D    Jesse Dudney


Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.