Phone: 641-521-0330


Daniels Tops Stock Cars

   Story by Josh Reynolds


Stuart, IA (June 9) – The racing was as hot as the weather this past Friday night at Stuart Speedway! Josh Daniels, Brandon Cox, Nick Roberts, John Gill and Austin Luellen took the wins on Horizon Financial Resources, LLC Night at the Races.

Scott Bailey and Brock Badger brought out the IMCA Stock Cars for the first feature event of the night, but they didn’t stay at the front long as both cars spun in turn one on the first lap. Chad LeGere and Buck Schafroth inherited the front row for the restart and Schafroth went for a spin to slow the cars again with one lap in the books. Josh Daniels took over at the front and set sail until a lap fourteen yellow bunched the cars up for a six lap shootout. Daniels was up to the task and went on to his first win of the season. Brandon Pruitt finished second with Cory Bushnell third, David Smith fourth and Schafroth fifth. Chris Pruitt and LeGere were the heat race winners.

IMCA Hobby Stocks were next with Ross Marshall and Gregg Anderson on the front row. Marshall led lap one with Korbin Nourse going by on lap two. Brandon Cox took over on lap three and checked out on the field to take his second win of the season. Nourse finished second with Jamie Schirm third, Jamie Songer fourth and Marshall fifth. Marshall and Anderson were the heat race winners.

Jeff James and Nick Roberts led the IMCA Modifieds to green with James getting the jump out of the gate. Roberts dogged James until making his move on lap ten to grab the lead. Once he had it the race was for second, and it was a good one between James and Josh Gilman. Gilman prevailed on the last lap, but it was Roberts running away from the field to take his third win of the year. Gilman finished second, James third, Clint Luellen fourth and Randy Havlik fifth. James was the heat race winner.

IMCA Sport Compacts came out next with Kolby Sabin and Landon White at the point. Sabin led early over Curtis Miller and John Gill. Sabin led until Miller moved by on lap nine, but Gill got past both of the frontrunners on the next circuit. Sabin and Miller fought it out for second as Gill was taking his third win of the season. Miller finished second with Sabin third, Dean Richards fourth and Sterling Weirich fifth. Sabin and Gill were the heat race winners.

Bryce Allen and Kody Havens brought the IMCA Northern SportMods to green for the last feature of the night with Havens getting the jump on lap one. Austin Luellen passed Allen for second on lap three and was glued to Havens’ back bumper by lap four. Luellen got up beside Havens on lap five and made the pass for the lead on lap six. John Watson followed Luellen through on the same lap and the battle was on. At any given time you could’ve put a blanket over the top four with Luellen, Watson, Havens and Chase Rudolf running inches apart as the laps wound down! Luellen put a little distance over Watson over the last few laps and went on to take his second win of the season. Watson finished second with Rudolf third, Havens fourth and Allen fifth. Havens and Allen were the heat race winners.

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our fifth event of the year. Next week will be Adair Lumber Company Night at the Races with the Karl Chevrolet Dirt Trucks joining our five regular classes. See you then!





Hobby Stocks

1. Brandon Cox (66)

Norwalk, Ia

2. Korbin Nourse (12)

Dexter, Ia

3. Jamie Schirm (56)

Dexter, Ia

4. Jamie Songer (96R)

Ankeny, Ia

5. Ross Marshall (21)

Johnston, Ia

6. Aaron Rudolph (38R)

Grand Junction, Ia

7. Jack Phillips (00)

Mitchellville, Ia

8. Solomon Bennett (11B)

Minburn, Ia

9. Raymond Fees (47)

Des Moines, Ia

10. Jamie Flugge-Smith (3J)

Granger, Ia

11. Gregg Anderson (3A)

Perry, Ia

12. David McQuiston (57M)

Van Meter, Ia

13. Josh Fredricksen (17J)

Des Moines, Ia



1. Nick Roberts (23JR)

Des Moines, Ia

2. Josh Gilman (83G)

Earlham, Ia

3. Jeff James (71)

Stanton, Ia

4. Clinton Luellen (3L)

Minburn, Ia

5. Randy Havlik (3Z)

Ankeny, Ia

6. Todd Vaneaton (V31)

Orient, Ia

7. Scott Bash (14B)

Windsor Heights, Ia

8. Cory Sauerman (17)

Johnston, Ia


SportMods A-Feature

1. Austin Luellen (3A)

Minburn, Ia

2. John Watson (4W)

Des Moines, Ia

3. Chase Rudolf (8R)

Prole, Ia

4. Kody Havens (99K)

Anita, Ia

5. Bryce Allen (16A)

Imogene, Ia

6. Dylan Petersen (44)

Harlan, Ia

7. Ethan Braaksma (11)

Newton, Ia

8. Dusty Masolini (8)

Des Moines, Ia

9. Josh Cooper (10J)

Prescott, Ia

10. Dan Swank (224)

Pella, Ia

11. Brandon Patava (61)

Des Moines, Ia

12. Lynn Brockett (57)

Ogden, Ia


Stock Cars A-Feature

1. Josh Daniels (25J)

Carlisle, Ia

2. Brandon Pruitt (10B)

Stuart, Ia

3. Cory Bushnell (55X)

Madrid, Ia

4. David Smith (8)

Lake City, Ia

5. Buck Schafroth (92)

Orient, Ia

6. Chris Pruitt (22)

Stuart, Ia

7. Chad Legere (7C)

Ankeny, Ia

8. Scott Bailey (64)

Carlisle, Ia

9. Jordan Riesberg (55)

Madrid, Ia

10. Marcus Fagan (1F)

Adair, Ia

11. Brock Badger (50B)

Bagley, Ia

12. Brent Ricker (23)

Mount Ayr, Ia


Spt Compact A-Feature

1. John Gill (02)

Marshalltown, Ia

2. Curtis Miller (411)

Lewis, Ia

3. Kolby Sabin (9)

Des Moines, Ia

4. Dean Richards (69X)

Creston, Ia

5. Sterling Weirich (12W)

Creston, Ia

6. Scott Ellis (00)

Marshalltown, Ia

7. Landon White (10W)

Creston, Ia

8. Hunter Patrick (33)

St. Charles, Ia

9. Joseph Mastin (99)

Des Moines, Ia

10. Travis Graspy (21G)

Des Moines, Ia

11. Todd Daniels (5T)

Indianola, Ia




Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.