Phone: 641-521-0330

Schirm and Murray Take the Checkers

 Story by Josh Reynolds

Stuart, IA (June 5) – Warm and windy conditions made for a dry-slick racing surface, but the racers put on a great show at Stuart Speedway! Jackson Frisbie, Mike Nichols, Denny Berghahn, Clint Luellen, Jamie Schirm and Jacob Murray took the wins on Roy Sargent Building Night at the Races.

The Heartland Micro Sprints were first up with Jerad Klabunde and Ryan Mills on the front row. Klabunde led lap one with Corey Forsyth taking over on lap two. Forsyth held strong over Jackson Frisbie and Jayce Jenkins until Frisbie moved past on lap ten. Shane Sundquist brought out the red on lap thirteen when he rolled over in turn one. This bunched up the field for a two lap shootout, and as the cars took the white flag Jeremiah Sillman hit the front stretch wall and flipped over. Since the cars took the white flag, the race was ended under a yellow-checkered finish and Frisbie was declared the winner. Jenkins finished second with Skylar Hunter third, Klabunde fourth and Jimmy Abell fifth. Jenkins and Frisbie were the heat race winners.

Josh Daniels and Robbie Merkle brought out the IMCA Stock Cars next with Daniels leading a tight pack for the first four circuits. Mike Nichols saw everyone on the bottom side of the track, so he went high and drove around the pack to take the lead on lap five. A couple of caution flags flew on laps six and seven, and that would be the only thing slowing down Nichols as he went on to take the win. Marcus Fagan battled through for a second place finish with Daniels third, Brian Blessington fourth and Brandon Pruitt fifth. Merkle and Fagan were the heat race winners.

IMCA Sport Compacts came out next with David Coenen and Aaron Miller leading the field to the green flag. Coenen led through some early caution flags, but first-timer Denny Berghahn from Plattsmouth, Nebraska found the lead on lap five and went on to take the win. Coenen finished second with John Gill third, Curtis Miller fourth and James Peterson fifth. Gill was the heat race winner.

Bryce Allen and Blair Simmons brought the IMCA Northern SportMods to the track next, but Simmons didn’t make it through turn one on the first lap as he pounded the outside wall. Simmons was ok, but his car was unable to continue. Once the green flag waved again it was Dusty Masolini taking control with Bryce Allen and Jerry Hinton close behind. Adam Armstrong moved from fourth to second on lap five with Masolini continuing to lead until the caution came out on lap eight. Clint Luellen had an awesome restart and went from fourth to the lead on lap nine and looked to sail into the sunset, but Armstrong closed the gap as the laps wound down. Luellen would stay consistent and went on to the win with Armstrong second, Masolini third, Kody Havens fourth and Austin Luellen fifth. Chase Rudolf and Hinton were the heat race winners.

IMCA Hobby Stocks were up next with Matt Tiernan and Jamie Flugge-Smith on the front row. Tiernan led lap one with the yellow coming out for Jamie Songer just before lap two. Jamie Schirm moved to the front with another caution on lap three for Ryan Grochala. Schirm would get the green flag and show the way over Jason Day and John Watson until Watson took over second on lap eleven. Watson threw the book at it, but Schirm was too tough and went on to take the win. Watson finished second with Day third, Buck Schafroth fourth and Grochala fifth. Schafroth and Schirm were the heat race winners.

Last up on the evening would be the IMCA Modifieds with Todd Cooney and Bob Daniels showing the way. Cooney led early over Dylan Book and Jacob Murray. Murray moved to the high side, passed Book for second on lap three and Cooney for the lead on lap four. Murray would go out to a dominating lead and looked to cruise to the easy win, but a spin by Josh Gilman on lap eighteen off the front bumper of Ricky Thornton Jr. brought out the yellow flag and bunched up the field for a two lap shootout. Murray was up to the task and went on to the win with Tim Ward second, Cooney third, Gilman fourth and Todd VanEaton fifth. Cooney and Murray were the heat race winners.

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our fifth event of the year. Next week will be National Investors Night at the Races. We will have our 5 regular IMCA classes with the MADCRA Mod Lites in attendance as well. See you next week!


Modifieds - Feature

1. 48J    Jacob Murray

2. 4TW    Tim Ward

3. 10    Todd Cooney

4. 83G    Josh Gilman

5. V31    Todd Vaneaton

6. 71    Jeff James

7. 51X    Matthew Webb

8. B00K    Dylan Book

9. 14B    Scott Bash

10. 25D    Bob Daniels

11. 20RT    Ricky Thornton Jr DNF



Stock Cars - Feature

1. 63    Mike Nichols

2. 1F    Marcus Fagan

3. 25J    Josh Daniels

4. 92B    Brian Blessington

5. 10B    Brandon Pruitt

6. 22    Chris Pruitt

7. 5    Keith Simmons

8. 98    Derrick Rohe

9. 54    Robbie Merkle

10. 52    Ben Walding

11. 71    Corey Piffer

12. 12    Adam Hagen DNF

13. 2C    Dana Cook DNF



SportMods - Feature

1. 3L    Clinton Luellen

2. 6A    Adam Armstrong

3. 8    Dusty Masolini

4. 99K    Kody Havens

5. 3A    Austin Luellen

6. 8R    Chase Rudolf

7. 34    Jerry Hinton

8. 30    Shawn Cooney

9. 99RE    Arie Schouten

10. 16A    Bryce Allen

11. 13M    Matthew Munyon

12. 224    Dan Swank

13. 98    Thomas Egenberger DNF

14. 29V    Brett Vanderheiden DNF

15. 93    Hunter Longnecker DNF

16. 32S    Blair Simmons DNF



Hobby Stocks - Feature

1. 56    Jamie Schirm

2. 4W    John Watson

3. 14    Jason Day

4. 92    Buck Schafroth

5. 77G    Ryan Grochala

6. 12    Korbin Nourse

7. 7M    Matt Tiernan

8. 3J    Jamie Flugge-smith

9. 3A    Gregg Anderson DNF

10. 96R    Jamie Songer DNF

11. 14B    Keith Burg DNS



Spt Compact - Feature

1. 6JR    Denny Berghahn

2. 4    David Coenen

3. 2    John Gill

4. 411    Curtis Miller

5. 79    James Peterson

6. 1    Aaron Miller

7. 81    Steven Prusia

8. 30X    Jacob Reiter



Micro Sprints - Feature

1. 38    Jackson Frisbie

2. 33    Jayce Jenkins

3. 7S    Skylar Hunter

4. 82    Jerad Klabunde

5. 20J    Jimmy Abell

6. 35D    Dylan Sillman

7. 62F    Joel Fritz

8. 92M    Ryan Mills

9. 52S    Jeremiah Sillman DNF

10. 7    Shane Sundquist DNF

11. 20D    David Abell DNF

12. 49C    Corey Forsyth DNF

13. 21    Devin Wignall DNF


Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.