Phone: 641-521-0330

Badger Takes Thriller for First Stock Car Win

Story by Josh Reynolds


Stuart, IA (June 30) – Racers racing each other and the staff racing the rain highlighted another wild night at Stuart Speedway! Dean Richards, Austin Luellen, Tyson Overton, Brad Moyer, Brock Badger and Clint Luellen took home the hardware on National Investors Night at the Races.

IMCA Sport Compacts took to the track first with Joe Mastin and Kolby Sabin on the front row. Sabin led the first three laps with Dean Richards taking over on lap four. Sabin and Curtis Miller fought hard for second but it was all Richards as he went on to take the win. Sabin finished second with Miller third, John Gill fourth and Landon White fifth. Sabin was the heat race winner.

Dan Swank and Hunter Longnecker brought out the IMCA Northern SportMods next with Lynn Brockett coming from fifth to lead lap one. Brockett, Kody Havens and Longnecker led the pack until a lap six caution slowed the field. Another quick yellow a lap later set up an eight lap dash to the finish, and Austin Luellen blasted his way to the lead on lap nine ahead of Brockett and Longnecker. John Watson made it to third on lap ten, but no one was a match for Luellen as he went on to the win. Brockett finished second with Watson third, Dylan Petersen fourth and Chase Rudolf fifth. Watson and Havens were the heat race winners.

IMCA Hobby Stocks were up next with Dylan Nelson and Tyson Overton on the front row. Overton led early over Gregg Anderson and Jack Phillips with Jamie Schirm working his way to third on lap seven. The caution flew on lap nine and that allowed the field a shot at Overton, but it was not to be as the 42T went on to his first feature win at Stuart Speedway! Schirm finished second with Phillips third, Eric Stanton fourth and Korbin Nourse fifth. Anderson and Overton were the heat race winners.

Next up was the visitors for the night, the Karl Chevrolet Dirt Trucks with brothers Bret and Brad Moyer on the front row. Bret led the first two laps with Brad taking over on lap three. Bill Davis Jr. worked the high side of the track to take second on lap five with Brad Moyer continuing to lead. A lap eleven caution slowed the field with Brad Moyer, Davis and Bret Moyer the top three trucks. Bret Moyer made it back to second on lap thirteen, but that would be the last change of position as Brad Moyer went on to the win. Bret Moyer finished second with Davis third, Bryan Spangler fourth and Josh Reynolds fifth. Brad Moyer and Reynolds were the heat race winners.

Brock Badger and Jordan Riesberg led the IMCA Stock Cars to green with Badger leading Keith Simmons and Brandon Pruitt on lap one. Pruitt shot into second on lap two on the bottom side with Badger leading on the high side. This would continue until a lap nine caution flew to slow the field. Once the green came back out it was Pruitt moving by for the lead on lap eleven with Josh Daniels in second. Badger fell back as far as fifth on laps fourteen and fifteen, but began to march back to the front on lap sixteen. With everyone running the bottom, Badger had clear sailing on the top but it’s a fine line between sailing and crashing up against the wall at Stuart. Pruitt took the white flag with Badger in second and as the cars went into turn three the fans rose to their feet! Badger powered off the high side of turn four and at the line it was the 50B by less than a foot for his first ever Stock Car feature win! Pruitt finished second with Josh Daniels third, Marcus Fagan fourth and Simmons fifth. Cory Bushnell and Buck Schafroth were the heat race winners.

Seeing lightning in the distance the IMCA Modifieds came to the track last with Scott Bash and Cory Sauerman on the front row. Sauerman led lap one with Todd VanEaton taking over on lap two. Clint Luellen passed Sauerman for second on lap four, and Jeff James made it to third on lap seven. Luellen hounded VanEaton until making the pass for the lead on lap fourteen. Luellen went on to take his second win in a row at Stuart with VanEaton finishing second, James third, Todd Shute fourth and Lance Mari fifth. Matthew Meinecke and Sauerman were the heat race winners.

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our seventh event of the year. Next week will be the Stew Hansen –Dodge /Jeep Stock Car Shootout. Stock Cars will be racing for $1000 to win with a draw/redraw format. See you then!




1. Clinton Luellen (3L)

Minburn, Ia

2. Todd Vaneaton (V31)

Orient, Ia

3. Jeff James (71)

Stanton, Ia

4. Todd Shute (5)

Des Moines, Ia

5. Lance Mari (19SB)

Imperial, Ca

6. Josh Gilman (83G)

Earlham, Ia

7. Cory Sauerman (17)

Johnston, Ia

8. Matthew Meinecke (5M)

Jamaica, Ia

9. Scott Bash (14B)

Windsor Heights, Ia

10. Eric Elliott (9E)

Boone, Ia


Stock Cars

1. Brock Badger (50B)

Bagley, Ia

2. Brandon Pruitt (10B)

Stuart, Ia

3. Josh Daniels (25J)

Carlisle, Ia

4. Marcus Fagan (1F)

Adair, Ia

5. Keith Simmons (5K)

St Charles, Ia

6. Chris Pruitt (22)

Stuart, Ia

7. Jordan Riesberg (55)

Madrid, Ia

8. Derrick Rohe (98)

Audubon, Ia

9. Joey Young (72)

Carlisle, Ia

10. Corey Piffer (71)

Indianola, Ia

11. Cory Bushnell (55X)

Madrid, Ia

12. Buck Schafroth (92)

Orient, Ia

13. David Smith (8)

Lake City, Ia

14. Chad Legere (7C)

Ankeny, Ia



1. Austin Luellen (3A)

Minburn, Ia

2. Lynn Brockett (57)

Ogden, Ia

3. John Watson (4W)

Des Moines, Ia

4. Dylan Petersen (44)

Harlan, Ia

5. Chase Rudolf (8R)

Prole, Ia

6. Hunter Longnecker (93)

Woodward, Ia

7. Dusty Masolini (8)

Des Moines, Ia

8. Frank Packer (77AU)

Madrid, Ia

9. Josh Cooper (10J)

Prescott, Ia

10. Bill Wears (2+)

Des Moines, Ia

11. Colton Nelson (93N)

Osceola, Ia

12. Kody Havens (99K)

Anita, Ia

13. Dan Swank (224)

Pella, Ia

14. Carl Allbee (15A)

Grand Junction, Ia


Hobby Stocks

1. Tyson Overton (42T)

Carlisle, Ia

2. Jamie Schirm (56)

Dexter, Ia

3. Jack Phillips (00)

Mitchellville, Ia

4. Eric Stanton (7B)

Carlisle, Ia

5. Korbin Nourse (12)

Dexter, Ia

6. Aaron Rudolph (38R)

Grand Junction, Ia

7. David McQuiston (57M)

Van Meter, Ia

8. Ross Marshall (21)

Johnston, Ia

9. Dylan Nelson (13N)

Adel, Ia

10. Gregg Anderson (3A)

Perry, Ia

11. Solomon Bennett (11B)

Minburn, Ia

12. Adam Tiernan (8)

Granger, Ia



Spt Compact

1. Dean Richards (69X)

Creston, Ia

2. Kolby Sabin (9)

Des Moines, Ia

3. Curtis Miller (411)

Lewis, Ia

4. John Gill (02)

Marshalltown, Ia

5. Landon White (10W)

Creston, Ia

6. Hunter Patrick (33)

St. Charles, Ia

7. Scott Ellis (00)

Marshalltown, Ia

8. Joseph Mastin (99)

Des Moines, Ia



1. Brad Moyer (21)

Alleman, Ia

2. Bret Moyer (98)

Polk City, Ia

3. Bill Davis Jr (23)

Des Moines, Ia

4. Bryan Spangler (17)

Coon Rapids, Ia

5. Joshua Reynolds (35)

Van Meter, Ia

6. Lou Sipolt Jr. (9)

Altoona, Ia

7. Lucas Richardson (40)

Coon Rapids, Ia

8. Shonn Mapes (79)

Ankeny, Ia

9. Andrew Clark (7XJR)

Des Moines, Ia

10. Del Enos (2)

Des Moines, Ia

11. Anthony Moro (28)

Polk City, Ia

12. Tony Moro (2M)

Polk City, Ia




Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.