Phone: 641-521-0330

James Takes the Modified Checkers

 Story by Josh Reynolds

Stuart, IA (June 19) – After a week off due to a heat-out, promotor Chuck Vanderheiden made the call to start an hour later and it paid off with an awesome track for the racers of Stuart Speedway! Mike Morrill, Marcus Fagan, John Gill, Jeff James, Jamie Schirm and Clint Luellen took the wins on Kriegers Chevrolet Night at the Races.

The MADCRA Mod Lites were first up with Mike Morrill and Scott Naggatz on the front row. Morrill blasted out to a big lead early over Travis Stensland, but with around five laps to go the gap began to narrow. Coming to the white flag Stensland took the lead and the two set the stage for a dramatic finish! Stensland led coming out of turn four, but a lap car was used perfectly by Morrill and Stensland had no choice but to lift and surrender the win at the finish line to Morrill! Randy Bryan finished third with Naggatz fourth and Josh May fifth. Morrill was the heat race winner.

Robbie Merkle and Josh Daniels brought out the IMCA Stock Cars next with Daniels rocketing out to the lead. Marcus Fagan made his way to second on lap three with Merkle and Chris Pruitt close behind. Daniels held the lead until Fagan shot by on lap eight. Daniels worked to find a faster groove, but it was not to be as Fagan went on to the win. Daniels finished second with Brandon Pruitt third, Merkle fourth and Chris Pruitt fifth. Merkle was the heat race winner.

IMCA Sport Compacts were up next with Aaron and Curtis Miller leading the field to green. John Gill came through to lead at the start, and that was all she wrote as he led every lap to take the win. Curtis Miller finished second and Aaron Miller third. Gill was also the heat race winner.

Bob Daniels and Todd Cooney brought out the IMCA Modifieds next with Cooney taking the early lead over Daniels and Jeff James. James moved to second on lap three and set his sights on the lead as Cooney continued to show the way. James slowly chewed away at Cooney’s lead, and on lap ten he would take over at the front. From there the race was for second as James would go on to the win. Jake Murray won the battle for second with Josh Gilman coming through to third, Cooney fourth and Todd VanEaton fifth. Murray and Cooney were the heat race winners.

IMCA Hobby Stocks came to the track next with David Simpson and Gregg Anderson at the front. Simpson led the first two laps with Buck Schafroth moving by on lap three. A caution for Ryan Grochala on lap four bunched up the field and Jamie Schirm took advantage to lead on lap five, but Schafroth surged back into the lead a lap later. Schirm stayed close behind and moved alongside for the lead on lap nine, and a bobble by Schafroth allowed Schirm to take control on lap ten. Schirm would go on to the win with John Watson second, Jason Day third, Keith Burg fourth and Schafroth fifth. Grochala and Burg were the heat race winners.

Arie Schouten and Thomas Egenberger brought the IMCA Northern SportMods out for the last feature of the night with Schouten leading lap one. Adam Armstrong jumped into the lead on lap two with Schouten taking it back on lap three. Armstrong finally took the point for good on lap four and looked poised to get his first win at the bullring in 2016, but Clint Luellen had another plan as he began to run him down just past halfway. Luellen charged into the lead on lap nine and never looked back in taking the win. Armstrong finished second with Kody Havens third, Jerry Hinton fourth and Austin Luellen fifth. Hinton and Dusty Masolini were the heat race winners.

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our sixth event of the year. Next week will be the Stew Hansen Dodge Stock Car Shootout. The Stock Cars will be racing for $1000 to win and $100 to start! The Heartland Micro Sprints will be in attendance as well as the rest of our regular classes. See you then!


Modifieds - Feature

Finish Car Driver

1. 71    Jeff James

2 .48J    Jacob Murray

3 .83G    Josh Gilman

4 .10    Todd Cooney

5 .V31    Todd Vaneaton

6 .23JR    Nick Roberts

7 .4TW    Tim Ward

8 .174    Ethan Dotson

9 .11    Cody Laney

10. 25D    Bob Daniels

11.51X    Matthew Webb

12. B00K    Dylan Book

13.14B    Scott Bash



Stock Cars - Feature

Finish Car Driver

1. 1F    Marcus Fagan

2. 25J    Josh Daniels

3. 10B    Brandon Pruitt

4. 54    Robbie Merkle

5. 22    Chris Pruitt

6. 92B    Brian Blessington

7. 98    Derrick Rohe

8. 7K    Andrew Knode



SportMods - Feature

Finish Car Driver

1. 3L    Clinton Luellen

2.6A    Adam Armstrong

3. 99K    Kody Havens

4.34    Jerry Hinton

5. 3A    Austin Luellen

6. 99RE    Arie Schouten

7. 30    Shawn Cooney

8. 98    Thomas Egenberger

9. 32S    Blair Simmons

10. 8    Dusty Masolini



Hobby Stocks - Feature

Finish Car Driver

1. 56    Jamie Schirm

2.4W    John Watson

3. 14    Jason Day

4. 14B    Keith Burg

5. 92    Buck Schafroth

6.3A    Gregg Anderson

7. 0    Jack Phillips

8. 77G    Ryan Grochala

9. 12    Korbin Nourse

10. 7M    Matt Tiernan

11. 7    David Simpson




Spt Compact - Feature

Finish Car Driver

1. 2    John Gill

2. 411    Curtis Miller

3. 1    Aaron Miller




Mod Lites - Feature

Finish Car Driver

1. 6    Mike Morrill

2. 89    Travis Stensland

3. 64    Randy Bryan

4. 54N    Scott Naggatz

5. 99    Joshua May

6. 73T    Ted Jensen

7. 70    Larry Fox

8 X50    Joel Huggins



Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.