Phone: 641-521-0330

Gilman Takes Modified Checkers

Story by Josh Reynolds

Stuart, IA (July 24) – After 3 weeks with no racing the dirt was flying Sunday night at Stuart Speedway! Jayce Jenkins, Marcus Fagan, John Gill, Josh Gilman, Jamie Schirm and Clint Luellen were the winners on NAPA Auto Parts Night at the Races.

The Heartland Micro Sprints were first up with Jimmy Abell and Jayce Jenkins on the front row. Jenkins made short work of the field as he led uncontested to the checkered flag. Corey Forsyth finished second with Skyler Hunter third, Jackson Frisbie fourth and Alec Carberry fifth. Hunter and Forsyth were the heat race winners.

Joel Tigges and Derrick Rohe brought out the IMCA Stock Cars next with Tigges leading lap one. Rohe came through to take the top spot for the next six laps until Tigges found a way around on lap eight. Things were looking good for Tigges until he lost the handle on lap eleven and spun in turn two, bringing out the caution flag. That turned the lead over to Chris Pruitt, and he would hold it until Marcus Fagan powered by on lap fourteen. Fagan would cruise to the win with Rohe second, Josh Daniels third, Pruitt fourth and Tigges fifth. Brian Blessington and Terry Klocke were the heat race winners.

IMCA Sport Compacts were up next with Vicki Meeker and Aaron Miller leading the field to green. Miller led the first lap with John Gill coming to the front on lap two. The race was on……..for second as Gill set sail to take the win. Miller got the best of the runner up battle over James Roose with Meeker finishing fourth and David Coenen fifth. Meeker was the heat race winner.

Todd Cooney and Josh Gilman brought the IMCA Modifieds to life next with Gilman leading early over Jake Murray and Cooney. The top three held true until Jeff James moved past Cooney for third on lap thirteen. Murray closed the gap some, but there was no stopping Gilman from taking his first win of 2016. Murray finished a strong second with James third, Cooney fourth and Tim Ward fifth. Murray was the heat race winner.

IMCA Hobby Stocks were up next with Keith Burg and Jason Day on the front row. Ryan Grochala made it to the front on lap one as he led Burg and Jamie Schirm around for the first two laps. Schirm passed Burg on lap three and set his sights on the lead. Four laps later Schirm made it a reality as he made his move on the top side. Schirm had little trouble in taking the win with Jason Day taking second, John Watson third, Grochala fourth and Buck Schafroth fifth. Grochala was the heat race winner.

Last up for the night was the IMCA Northern SportMods with Thomas Egenberger and Dusty Masolini on the front row. Egenberger led lap one, but his reign at the top was short lived as Clint Luellen took over on lap two. Shawn Cooney made it to second on lap four and began to try to track down Luellen, but there was no stopping the 3L on this night as he went on to the win. Cooney finished second with Kody Havens third, Adam Armstrong fourth and Chase Rudolf fifth. Luellen made it a clean sweep as he was also the heat race winner.

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our ninth event of the year. Join us next week as Jirak Plumbing/Tiling presets the John Wetzel Memorial. The Hobby Stocks will be racing for $1000 to win, and in addition the Modifieds will be racing for a spot in the Harris Clash “Dash at the Clash”! Both classes will be draw/redraw format, and we will have the rest of our normal classes along with the Mod Lites. See you at the track!


Modifieds - Feature

1. 83G    Josh Gilman

2. 48J    Jacob Murray

3. 71    Jeff James

4. 10    Todd Cooney

5. 4TW    Tim Ward

6. V31    Todd Vaneaton

7. 14B    Scott Bash

8. 23JR    Nick Roberts



Stock Cars - Feature

1. 1F    Marcus Fagan

2. 98    Derrick Rohe

3. 25J    Josh Daniels

4. 22    Chris Pruitt

5. 82    Joel Tigges

6. 92B    Brian Blessington

7. 28W    Don Wear

8. 2    Adam Klocke

9. 35K    Terry Klocke

10. 3S    Bryan Snell

11. 54    Robbie Merkle

12. 55X    Brandon Hill



SportMods - Feature

1. 3L    Clinton Luellen

2. 30    Shawn Cooney

3. 99K    Kody Havens

4. 6A    Adam Armstrong

5. 8R    Chase Rudolf

6. 8    Dusty Masolini

7. 98    Thomas Egenberger

8. 6B    Daniel Baudler

9. 39    Larry Embrey



Hobby Stocks - Feature

1. 56    Jamie Schirm

2. 14    Jason Day

3. 4W    John Watson

4. 77G    Ryan Grochala

5. 92    Buck Schafroth

6. 14B    Keith Burg

7. 0    Jack Phillips

8. 3A    Gregg Anderson

9. 3J    Jamie Flugge-smith



Spt Compact - Feature

1. 2    John Gill

2. 1    Aaron Miller

3. 86R    James Roose

4. 32M    Vicki Meeker

5. 4    David Coenen

6. 411    Curtis Miller

7. 5P    Ryan Pohlmeier



Micro Sprints - Feature

1. 33    Jayce Jenkins

2. 49C    Corey Forsyth

3. 7S    Skylar Hunter

4. 38    Jackson Frisbie

5. 16T    Alec Carberry

6. 20J    Jimmy Abell

7. 35D    Dylan Sillman

8. 12X    Doug Sylvester

9. 20D    David Abell

10. 52S   Jeremiah Sillman


Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.