Phone: 641-521-0330

Smith Tops Stout SportMod Field

Story by Josh Reynolds

Stuart, IA (August 18) – Warm temperatures and terrific side by side racing highlighted another great night of racing at Stuart Speedway! John Gill, Solomon Bennett, Josh Gilman, Doug Smith, Brandon Pruitt and Dallas Larson/Ben Larson were the winners on Kinzie Tire Service Night at the Races.

IMCA Sport Compacts were first up with Kolby Sabin and Matt Oberhelman on the front row. Oberhelman led the first three laps with John Gill making the pass for the top spot on lap four. After a lap six caution for Dean Richards coming to a stop in turn four it was Gill and Curtis Miller leading the field to green. Miller stuck to Gill’s bumper, but he didn’t have enough as Gill went on to the win. Miller finished second with James Peterson third, Scott Ellis fourth and Elijah Hoyt fifth. Oberhelman and Gill were the heat race winners.

Next up was the IMCA Hobby Stocks with David McQuiston and Solomon Bennett on the front row. Bennett led McQuiston and Jack Phillips on lap one with Phillips moving to second a lap later. Jamie Schirm made the pass into second on lap three and the yellow flag flew on lap four to slow the field. Once the green came out it was Bennett and Schirm pulling away from the field. Schirm was able to pull alongside of Bennett a few times, but the 11B was too strong and went on to the feature win. Schirm finished second, Brandon Cox third, Phillips fourth and Korbin Nourse fifth. JR Croy and Phillips were the heat race winners.

IMCA Modifieds came out next with Jeff James and Josh Gilman leading the field to green. Gilman got the jump and led James and Clint Luellen on lap one. Luellen passed James on lap two and set out to track down Gilman. Luellen closed to within a car length on lap five, but a missed corner allowed Gilman to get away. Gilman would go on to take the win with Luellen second, James third, Tristan Vesterby fourth and Bob Daniels fifth. Gilman was also the heat race winner.

Doug Smith and Carl Allbee brought the IMCA Northern SportMods to green with Smith leading Bryce Allen and Colton Nelson on lap one. Nelson passed Allen on lap three with Brandon Patava running in third as Smith continued to lead. Chase Rudolf made it to third from his ninth starting spot on lap six, and two laps later passed Nelson for second but Smith was too strong and went on to take the win. Rudolf finished second with Nelson third, Austin Luellen fourth and Kody Havens fifth. Smith and John Watson were the heat race winners.

IMCA Stock Cars were up next with Steve Hill and Chris Pruitt on the front row. Hill led lap one with Pruitt moving by on lap two. Brandon Pruitt passed Chris on lap three with Keith Simmons making it to second on lap four. Marcus Fagan passed Simmons on lap six and began to pester Brandon Pruitt for the lead around lap ten. Simmons wasn’t done as he put his car a groove higher than Fagan and took the second spot back on lap thirteen. The two duked it out for second while Pruitt stretched his lead out a bit as the race wound down. Fagan finally disposed of Simmons with three laps to go and made it to Pruitt’s back bumper, but that was as close as he’d get as Pruitt went on to take the win. Fagan finished second with Simmons third, Michael Murphy fourth and Josh Daniels fifth. Fagan and Brandon Pruitt were the heat race winners.

Cruisers were the last race of the night with the team of Larson & Larson leading the field from the drop of the green flag to the checkered flag. Fenton & Belew were the heat race winners.

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our thirteenth event of the year. Next week will be Plowman-Stanley Trenching Season Championship Night where we will crown our 2017 Track Champions. See you then!


SportMods A-Feature

1. Doug Smith (12)

Lanesboro, Ia

2. Chase Rudolf (8R)

Prole, Ia

3. Colton Nelson (93N)

Osceola, Ia

4. Austin Luellen (3A)

Minburn, Ia

5. Kody Havens (99K)

Anita, Ia

6. Brandon Patava (61)

Des Moines, Ia

7. Dusty Masolini (8)

Des Moines, Ia

8. John Watson (4W)

Des Moines, Ia

9. Lynn Brockett (57)

Ogden, Ia

10. Josh Cooper (10J)

Prescott, Ia

11. Bryce Allen (16A)

Imogene, Ia

12. Hunter Weber (99W)

Council Bluffs, Ia

13. Carl Allbee (15A)

Grand Junction, Ia

14. Trent Stewart (64)

Mount Ayr, Ia


Cruisers A-Feature

1. Dallas Larson (508)

Panora, Ia

2. Garrett Riedemann (SR22)

Adel, Ia

3. Bradley Byers (55)

Milo, Ia

4. Jeff Culp (42)

Stuart, Ia

5. Kyle Gibbons (7G)

Linden, Ia

6. Monty Miller (88)

Hampton, Ia

7. Travis Fenton (89)

Des Moines, Ia

8. Rob Niblo (NO1)

Des Moines, Ia


Hobby Stocks A-Feature

1. Solomon Bennett (11B)

Minburn, Ia

2. Jamie Schirm (56)

Dexter, Ia

3. Brandon Cox (66)

Norwalk, Ia

4. Jack Phillips (00)

Mitchellville, Ia

5. Korbin Nourse (12)

Dexter, Ia

6. Gregg Anderson (3A)

Perry, Ia

7. Jamie Songer (96R)

Ankeny, Ia

8. David McQuiston (57M)

Van Meter, Ia

9. J R Croy (70X)

Norwalk, Ia

10. Aaron Rudolph (38R)

Grand Junction, Ia


Spt Compact A-Feature

1. John Gill (02)

Marshalltown, Ia

2. Curtis Miller (411)

Lewis, Ia

3. James Peterson (79)

Webster City, Ia

4. Scott Ellis (00)

Marshalltown, Ia

5. Elijah Hoyt (77H)

Creston, Ia

6. Logan Debord (10X)

Creston, Ia

7. Dusty Hallett (5)

Creston, Ia

8. Joseph Mastin (99)

Des Moines, Ia

9. Matt Oberhelman (41)

Fort Dodge, Ia

10. Dean Richards (69X)

Creston, Ia

11. Lucas Perrigo (10P)

Creston, Ia

12. Kolby Sabin (9)

Des Moines, Ia


Stock Cars A-Feature

1. Brandon Pruitt (10B)

Stuart, Ia

2. Marcus Fagan (1F)

Adair, Ia

3. Keith Simmons (5K)

St Charles, Ia

4. Michael Murphy (25M)

Jefferson, Ia

5. Josh Daniels (25J)

Carlisle, Ia

6. Chris Pruitt (22)

Stuart, Ia

7. Steve Hill (55B)

Des Moines, Ia

8. Jordan Riesberg (55)

Madrid, Ia

9. Cory Bushnell (55X)

Madrid, Ia

10. Chris Palmer (51C)

Des Moines, Ia

11. Joey Young (72)

Carlisle, Ia


Modifieds A-Feature

1. Josh Gilman (83G)

Earlham, Ia

2. Clinton Luellen (3L)

Minburn, Ia

3. Jeff James (71)

Stanton, Ia

4. Tristan Vesterby (00)

Webster City, Ia

5. Bob Daniels (25)

Des Moines, Ia

6. Scott Bash (14B)

Windsor Heights, Ia






Copyright © 2018. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.