Phone: 641-521-0330

Armstrong Wins the Bones Memorial

Story by Josh Reynolds

Stuart, IA (August 14) – An absolutely perfect evening welcomed the racers and fans at Stuart Speedway this past Sunday evening! Jayce Jenkins, Josh Daniels, Buck Schafroth, Todd VanEaton, Curtis Miller and Adam Armstrong were the winners at the Bones Memorial presented by Jorgensen Custom Hay Services LLC.

The Heartland Micro Sprints were first up with father and son Jeremiah and Dylan Sillman on the front row. Dylan would lead the first three laps and Jayce Jenkins took over on lap four. Jenkins set sail and went on to take the win. Jeremiah Sillman finished second with son Dylan third, Jackson Frisbie fourth and Doug Sylvester fifth. Skylar Hunter and Frisbie were the heat race winners.

Terry Pruitt and Chris Pruitt brought the IMCA Stock Cars to green next with Chris Pruitt taking the lead on lap one. Josh Daniels moved to the front on lap two with Brian Blessington following him through to take second a lap later. The caution flew on lap five, but when the cars fired back up there was no stopping Daniels as he went on to take the win. Blessington finished second, Brandon Pruitt third, Chris Pruitt fourth and Terry Pruitt fifth. Brandon Pruitt and Marcus Fagan were the heat race winners.

IMCA Hobby Stocks came out next with Keith Burg and Patrick Pellman on the front row. Burg took the lead right away and checked out on the field, and it looked like the race was on for second. Around lap seven Burg’s car developed a severe push and he began to slow, allowing the pack to reel him in. Buck Schafroth took advantage and made the pass for the lead on lap ten with John Watson close behind. Schafroth would go on to take the win with Watson second, Jamie Schirm third, Pellman fourth and Ryan Grochala fifth. Burg was the heat race winner.

Bob Daniels and Scott Bash led the IMCA Modified field to green next with Bash leading lap one. Jake Murray took the top spot on lap two and within five laps developed a healthy lead. It appeared Murray was well on his way to a win, but that all fell apart on lap fourteen as Murray rode the turn one wall. Todd VanEaton took advantage and went on to his first win of the season at SIS. Randy Havlik had a great run to finish second from his tenth starting spot, Tim Ward was third, Jeff James fourth and Bash fifth. Havlik and VanEaton were the heat race winners.

IMCA Sport Compacts were up next with Johnathan Kinser and Curtis Miller on the front row. Miller led lap one and all nine that followed to take the win. Levi Heath finished second, Kinser third, Cody Cleghorn fourth and John Gill fifth. Miller was also the heat race winner.

Last up for the night was the IMCA Northern SportMods and the Bones Memorial. After Clint Luellen, Adam Armstrong, Austin Luellen and Shawn Cooney won the heats and Jake Sachau won the B-Main, Jake McBirnie and Clint Luellen brought the field to the green flag. Luellen set the pace early with McBirnie and Dylan Petersen not far behind. Four yellows and one red flag slowed the event with Johnathon Logue taking the worst of the damage after a rollover in turn one on lap ten. Logue was ok, but was done for the evening. After the second to last caution on lap sixteen, Adam Armstrong was brought to the back bumper of Luellen and the show was on! Luellen held the lead until lap nineteen when he washed high in turn three, opening the door for Armstrong. One more caution flag brought the field together for a two lap shootout, and Armstrong was up to the task as he went on to take the win and the $1000 top prize! Luellen finished second with McBirnie third, Petersen fourth and seventeenth starting Sachau took home fifth.

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our twelfth event of the year. Join us next week for Avey Sanitation Night at the Races. Our five regular classes will be racing and the Mod Lites will be in attendance as well! See you next week!


Modifieds - Feature

1. V31    Todd Vaneaton

2. 3Z    Randy Havlik

3. 4TW    Tim Ward

4. 71    Jeff James

5. 14B    Scott Bash

6. 131S    Ed Seibert

7. 25D    Bob Daniels

8. 45H    Jason Hickingbottom

9. 83G    Josh Gilman

10. 48J    Jacob Murray

11. 58    Bill Heinkel



Stock Cars - Feature

1. 25J    Josh Daniels

2. 92B    Brian Blessington

3. 10B    Brandon Pruitt

4. 22    Chris Pruitt

5. 78P    Terry Pruitt

6. 0    Tony Hardisty

7. 14S    Bob Staiert

8. 50    Brock Badger

9. 26K    Butch Bass

10. 55X    Brandon Hill

11. 1F    Marcus Fagan

12. 3S    Bryan Snell



SportMods - Bones Feature

1. 6A    Adam Armstrong

2. 3L    Clinton Luellen

3. 82    Jake Mcbirnie

4. 44    Dylan Petersen

5. 14    Jake Sachau

6. 61    Brandon Patava

7. 5    Josh Sink

8. 8R    Chase Rudolf

9. 777    Cody Olsen

10. 86J    Jerod Weston

11. 27    Anthony Kobus

12. 10J    Josh Cooper

13. 16A    Bryce Allen

14. 6    Ryan Jenkins

15. 30    Shawn Cooney

16. 9A    Logan Anderson

17. 3A    Austin Luellen

18. 8    Dusty Masolini

19. 69JR    Johnathon Logue

20. 57    Lynn Brockett



Hobby Stocks - Feature

1. 92    Buck Schafroth

2. 4W    John Watson

3. 56    Jamie Schirm

4. 71    Patrick Pellman

5. 77G    Ryan Grochala

6. 14B    Keith Burg

7. 3A    Gregg Anderson

8. 78B    Andrew Burg



Spt Compact - Feature

1. 411    Curtis Miller

2. 9H    Levi Heath

3. 6    Johnathan Kinser

4. 21ZC    Cody Cleghorn

5. 2    John Gill

6. 0    Larry Tipton

7. 86R    James Roose

8. 5P    Ryan Pohlmeier




Micro Sprints - Feature


1. 33    Jayce Jenkins

2. 52S    Jeremiah Sillman

3. 35D    Dylan Sillman

4. 38    Jackson Frisbie

5. 12X    Doug Sylvester

6. 7S    Skylar Hunter

7. 16T    Alec Carberry

8. 11    Riley Goodno

9. 20J    Jimmy Abell

10. 20D    David Abell

11. 14    Bill Livezey

12. 92M    Ryan Mills



Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.