Phone: 641-521-0330

Sachau Wins Bones Memorial

 Story by Josh Reynolds

Stuart, IA (August 11) –  Beautiful weather, a smooth track and a last lap pass for the win – what more can you ask for on a Friday night at Stuart Speedway?! Skylar Hunter, John Gill, Jamie Schirm, Jeff James, Marcus Fagan and Jake Sachau were the winners at the Bones Memorial/Adair Lumber Company Night at the Races.

After heat races were completed the track called cars to the race track for kids rides. This was very popular with our young fans and we want to thank the drivers for giving the kids something to remember. Once the kids rides were done there was a drawing for the kids to get some free bikes. Thanks to Watson Racing for donating the bikes and congrats to the winners! Micro Sprints were up after the extended intermission with Skylar Hunter and Charles Aman making the call. The two ran side by side for the first half of the race, but it was Hunter stretching it out at the end to take the win. Hunter was also the heat race winner.

IMCA Sport Compacts were up next with Zak Sickles and Scott Ellis bringing the field to the green flag. John Gill rocketed to the lead on lap one with Curtis Miller and Kris Foote not far behind. The top three stayed the same until a caution came out on lap eight, bunching the field up for a four lap dash to the checkered flag. Miller looked strong, but it was Gill that showed the muscle as he went on to take the win. Miller finished second with Ellis third, Foote fourth and Matt Oberhelman fifth. Gill also took the heat race win.

Matt Tiernan and JR Croy brought out the IMCA Hobby Stocks next with Tiernan leading lap one. Jack Phillips took over the top spot a lap later over Solomon Bennett and Jamie Schirm. The yellow flew on lap five for a stopped car in turn two with Phillips continuing to lead. When the green flag came out it was short lived as contact between Bennett and Brandon Cox resulted in Cox barrel rolling up onto the bank in turn three. Thankfully Cox exited the car under his own power and was ok. Once the cars got going again it was Phillips and Schirm at the top with Korbin Nourse and Gregg Anderson fighting it out for third. Schirm was able to make the pass on lap ten with Anderson following through into second. Anderson stayed close but it was Schirm taking the feature win. Anderson finished second with Nourse third, Phillips fourth and Croy fifth. Aaron Rudolph and Bennett were the heat race winners.

IMCA Modifieds came out next with Scott Bash and Jeff James on the front row. James, Clint Luellen and Josh Gilman were the front three on lap one with James putting a small gap between him and Luellen by lap five. At the halfway point it was James out front with Luellen and Gilman having quite a race for second. James would go on to the win with Luellen taking second, Gilman third, Randy Havlik fourth and Jared Deterding fifth. Havlik was the heat race winner.

Brock Badger and Chris Pruitt led the IMCA Stock Cars to green with Pruitt leading the first two laps. Another Pruitt, Brandon, took over the lead on lap three with Chris Pruitt and Badger following close behind. Lap five saw Marcus Fagan go from fourth to second with Brandon Pruitt continuing to lead. As the laps wound down Fagan closed the gap and began searching for a way around Pruitt. Fagan moved up a groove in turn one on lap seventeen and found that way around Pruitt and into the lead. That would be all she wrote as Fagan went on to the win. Brandon Pruitt finished second with Chris Pruitt third, Scott Bailey fourth and Josh Daniels fifth. Chris Pruitt and Badger were the heat race winners.

Last up for the night was the Bones/Richard Welch Memorial for the IMCA SportMods. After Colton Nelson, Chase Rudolf and Austin Luellen won the heat races, Josh Sink and Nelson drew the 1-2 chips to make up the front row. Nelson would lead early over Sink and Doug Smith. Contact between Austin Luellen and Smith resulted in debris on the front stretch to bring out the caution on lap four. Once the green came back out it was Nelson, Luellen and Hunter Longnecker at the front with Chase Rudolf and Jake Sachau battling it out for fourth. Sachau would take that place on lap ten, then worked Longnecker over for third on lap fifteen. At this point it appeared Nelson was well on his way to the win, but a caution for a spin by Ben Stockton on lap twenty two bunched the field. Another yellow on lap twenty four set up a two lap dash for the cash, and this was the show everyone came to see! Nelson led at the white flag, but his car pushed severely and allowed Luellen to get up beside him. Meanwhile, Sachau snuck it in on the bottom in turn three as Nelson pushed up the track again. Sachau squared off the corner and beat Nelson to the line to take the win and the $1000 payday! Nelson finished a disappointing second with Luellen third, Longnecker fourth and Ethan Braaksma fifth.

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our twelfth event of the year. Next week will be Kinzie Tire Service Night at the Races with our five regular classes in attendance. See you then!


SportMods Feature

1. Jake Sachau (14)

Denison, Ia

2. Colton Nelson (93N)

Osceola, Ia

3. Austin Luellen (3A)

Minburn, Ia

4. Hunter Longnecker (93)

Woodward, Ia

5. Ethan Braaksma (11)

Newton, Ia

6. John Watson (4W)

Des Moines, Ia

7. Josh Sink (5)

Red Oak, Ia

8. Lynn Brockett (57)

Ogden, Ia

9. Carter Vandenberg (7V)

Oskaloosa, Ia

10. Dusty Masolini (8)

Des Moines, Ia

11. Bryce Allen (16A)

Imogene, Ia

12. Buddy Jones (25)

Council Bluffs, Ia

13. Nicholas Carpenter (33)

Leavenworth, Ks

14. Chase Rudolf (8R)

Prole, Ia

15. Ben Stockton (33S)

Kansas City, Mo

16. Mike Tanner (20T)

Smithville, Mo

17. Brandon Patava (61)

Des Moines, Ia

18. Doug Smith (12)

Lanesboro, Ia


Stock Cars A-Feature

1. Marcus Fagan (1F)

Adair, Ia

2. Brandon Pruitt (10B)

Stuart, Ia

3. Chris Pruitt (22)

Stuart, Ia

4. Scott Bailey (64)

Carlisle, Ia

5. Josh Daniels (25J)

Carlisle, Ia

6. Keith Simmons (5K)

St Charles, Ia

7. Brock Badger (50B)

Bagley, Ia

8. Chris Palmer (51C)

Des Moines, Ia

9. Andrew Knode (7K)

Adel, Ia

10. Joey Young (72)

Carlisle, Ia

11. Cory Bushnell (55X)

Madrid, Ia


Modifieds A-Feature

1. Jeff James (71)

Stanton, Ia

2. Clinton Luellen (3L)

Minburn, Ia

3. Josh Gilman (83G)

Earlham, Ia

4. Randy Havlik (3Z)

Ankeny, Ia

5. Jared Deterding (13J)

Lincoln, Ne

6. Scott Bash (14B)

Windsor Heights, Ia


Hobby Stocks A-Feature

1. Jamie Schirm (56)

Dexter, Ia

2. Gregg Anderson (3A)

Perry, Ia

3. Korbin Nourse (12)

Dexter, Ia

4. Jack Phillips (00)

Mitchellville, Ia

5. J R Croy (70X)

Norwalk, Ia

6. Matt Wahl (20W)

Norwalk, Ia

7. Matt Tiernan (7M)

Stuart, Ia

8. Ed Swanson (44)

Braddyville, Ia

9. Tyler Henderson (4G)

Runnells, Ia

10. David McQuiston (57M)

Van Meter, Ia

11. Brandon Cox (66)

Norwalk, Ia

12. Aaron Rudolph (38R)

Grand Junction, Ia

13. Solomon Bennett (11B)

Minburn, Ia


Spt Compact A-Feature

1. John Gill (02)

Marshalltown, Ia

2. Curtis Miller (411)

Lewis, Ia

3. Scott Ellis (00)

Marshalltown, Ia

4. Kris Foote (43)

Lenox, Ia

5. Matt Oberhelman (41)

Fort Dodge, Ia

6. Joseph Mastin (99)

Des Moines, Ia

7. Zak Sickles (50)

Fontanelle, Ia

8. Jeff Schaefer (24X)

Orient, Ia

9. Kolby Sabin (9)

Des Moines, Ia


Micro Sprints A-Feature

1. Skylar Hunter (7S)

Afton, Ia

2. Charles Aman (35)

Lincoln, Ne






Copyright © 2018. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.