Story by Josh Reynolds

118 cars packed the pits on a brisk Wednesday night as the Lucas Oil MLRA Late Models came to Stuart Speedway! Feature winners for the night were Brayton Carter, Dallon Murty, Jesse Stovall and Shane DeVolder.

IMCA Northern SportMods came out first with the father/son duo of Bryan and Mitchell Morris on the front row. Bryan Morris led the first three laps with Brayton Carter blasting by to take over on lap four. It was all Carter from there as he went on to take the easy win. Brett Vanderheiden held on for second with Cam Reimers third, Dusty Masolini fourth and Garrett Nelson fifth.

Next up was the IMCA Stock Cars with Miciah Hidlebaugh and Todd VanEaton leading the field to the green flag. Hidlebaugh went for a spin in turn one and Bob Daniels took advantage to lead the field through a couple of cautions over the first half of the race. Dallon and Damon Murty charged into the top three and set out after Daniels at the halfway point. Dallon made a move to the outside just as Daniels’ engine let go on a restart with three to go and inherited the top spot. That would be the winning exchange as Dallon Murty went on to the feature win. Jeremy Gettler finished second with Buck Schafroth third, Michael Sheen fourth and Damon Murty fifth.

The Late Model stars were up next for their 40 lap feature with Frank Heckenast Jr and Jake Timm on the front row. Jesse Stovall quickly took over the lead with Heckenast staying close behind. The top two stayed the same over the first 25 laps, but it was the Marshalltown, Iowa driver Ryan Gustin charging into the lead with ten laps to go. Stovall kept it close but it was Gustin taking the checkered flag first. However, Gustin was found to have an illegal suspension component and Stovall was awarded the win. Garrett Alberson finished second, Heckenast third, Chris Simpson fourth and Timm fifth.

Chase Rudolf and Shane DeVolder led the IMCA Modified field to the green flag with Rudolf showing the way early. DeVolder marched into the lead on lap two and was never seriously challenged as he went on to the dominating win. Tim Ward made a charge at the end but settled for second with Cayden Carter third, Kyle Brown fourth and Rudolf fifth.

IMCA Sport Compacts were up next and after a lap one accident the decision was made to run the Sport Compact and Hobby Stock features next week.

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our second event of the year. Next week we will have the Jake Durbin Memorial and 2020 Stock Car Awards presented by Sauerman Trucking, DJ Septic Services, Elite Electric, & Wilson Welding. See you then!


MLRA Late Models

 Cedar Creek Beef Jerky A Features (40 Laps): 1. 00-Jesse Stovall[4]; 2. 59-Garrett Alberson[6]; 3. 99-Frank Heckenast Jr[1]; 4. 32S-Chris Simpson[17]; 5. 49T-Jake Timm[2]; 6. 25-Chad Simpson[3]; 7. 12W-Ashton Winger[16]; 8. 93-Mason Oberkramer[5]; 9. 75-Terry Phillips[9]; 10. 91P-Jason Papich[14]; 11. 56JR-Tony Jackson Jr[23]; 12. 20-Rodney Sanders[12]; 13. 15-Justin Duty[11]; 14. 91T-Tony Toste[10]; 15. 58-Jeremiah Hurst[13]; 16. 77Y-Jordan Yaggy[20]; 17. 30-Todd Cooney[22]; 18. 76-Blair Nothdurft[15]; 19. 3W-Brennon Willard[24]; 20. 11-Jeff Herzog[19]; 21. 22B-Gary Brown Jr[18]; 22. 21-Billy Moyer Sr[7]; 23. 11R-Justin Reed[21]; 24. (DQ) 19-Ryan Gustin[8]



VIP Contractors Karl Chevrolet of Stuart A Feature 1 (20 Laps): 1. 44S-Shane DeVolder[2]; 2. 4TW-Tim Ward[6]; 3. 10C-Cayden Carter[9]; 4. 21K-Kyle Brown[3]; 5. 8R-Chase Rudolf[1]; 6. 11X-Tom Berry Jr[8]; 7. 127-Drew Janssen[7]; 8. 01-Jacob Hobscheidt[4]; 9. 14B-Scott Bash[5]; 10. 83G-Josh Gilman[11]; 11. (DNS) 49D-Doug Heimbaugh


Stock Cars

Affordable Quality Roofing Exteriors A Feature 1 (20 Laps): 1. 99X-Dallon Murty[5]; 2. 20-Jeremy Gettler[16]; 3. 92-Buck Schafroth[9]; 4. 195-Michael Sheen[6]; 5. 99D-Damon Murty[8]; 6. V31-Todd VanEaton[2]; 7. 50B-Brock Badger[20]; 8. 10B-Brandon Pruitt[17]; 9. 23-Cody Gustoff[7]; 10. 3-Mike Albertsen[4]; 11. 71K-Chad Keller[21]; 12. $-Cody Center[19]; 13. 38C-Kellie Drury[13]; 14. 72H-Miciah Hidlebaugh[1]; 15. 71-Corey Piffer[15]; 16. 121-Kenzie Ritter[18]; 17. 5JR-Jami Ritter[22]; 18. 71A-Jason Alexander[23]; 19. (DNF) 7C-Chad Legere[12]; 20. (DNF) 25D-Bob Daniels[3]; 21. (DNF) 14-Scott Bailey[10]; 22. (DNF) 18-Anthony Goldsberry[11]; 23. (DNF) 54-Robbie Merkle[14]


Sport Mods

Spangler Automotive A Feature 1 (18 Laps): 1. 01-Brayton Carter[4]; 2. 29V-Brett Vanderheiden[7]; 3. 21-Cam Reimers[6]; 4. 8-Dusty Masolini[11]; 5. 95N-Garrett Nelson[5]; 6. 5T-Tyler Inman[8]; 7. 26M-Mitchell Morris[2]; 8. 26BM-Bryan Morris[1]; 9. 34F-Cole Fenske[9]; 10. 93N-Colton Nelson[10]; 11. 26-Mike Dullard[15]; 12. 28-Nic Runyan[13]; 13. (DNF) 93-Hunter Longnecker[12]; 14. (DNF) 7T-James Tarter[18]; 15. (DNF) 5I-Todd Inman[16]; 16. (DNF) 193-Jessiah Taylor[17]; 17. (DNF) 17C-Shane Paris[3]; 18. (DNS) 42-Tyler Heckart



Copyright © 2023. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.